The Martian by Andy Weir

Has anyone been paying attention to new movies coming out? Have you heard of The Martian with Matt Damon? Well, if you haven’t, you need to take a minute to look it up. Do it now, I will wait….

Did you look it up? Good!

themartianmovieThe movie is being released on Friday October 2nd. That is just two short days from today. Once I decided to read this book I had a very short window to read this book before the movie came out. And I really wanted to watch this movie as soon as it comes out.

The book The Martian was written by Andy Weir and was published in 2011, and I honestly had never heard of it, but even if I had, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up on my own. A book called the Martian isn’t exactly the type of book I typically read

Amazon’s spoiler free description is as follows:

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

My fiance was the main reason this book was added to my must read list, and I am not ashamed to give him full and complete credit. If you have been following this blog from the beginning, one of my first posts was about how much I hate spoilers, and watching a movie before reading a book is a HUGE spoiler to me. Rob wants to see this movie, but he had to read the book first. After he completely busted through the book in two days, I knew it was going to be worth my time, so I downloaded the kindle version and got started.

This book is gripping. A story told in short log entries, where every chapter moves the plot along, definitely keeps you glued to the pages. Nothing is overly exaggerated, no scientific knowledge is necessarily expected to be understood by the readers, and everything is told in a reader friendly format that has me feeling like a science buff after finishing the novel.

When Mark Watney gets stranded on Mars, he knows he is totally screwed, but of anyone on that crew he was the most likely to survive the situation he was put in. Watney was the resident engineer and botanist. He has the skills to fix anything that breaks, as well as figure out how to grow the food that will lead to his survival. His biggest problems are the fact that he has no way of telling NASA that he is still alive, and the next manned mission to Mars isn’t for four years. How is he going to survive that long? Not easily, what with human error, radiation, and sand storms all trying to kill him.

themartian1

The most surprising and heart warming part of this book was the tremendous idea that the world gathered together to bring Mark Watney home, and everyone worked together to try and make it happen, no money or time was an issue, everyone did everything they could to make it a success. They had to bring him home.

If it were up to me everyone would read the book before they sit in those comfortable movie theater seats to see this movie. And boy is this movie going to be amazing!! I am so glad I don’t have to wait too long before I can enjoy a bucket of popcorn and this amazing movie. But as it always is, I am 99.9% sure the book will be better than the movie, don’t let yourself get caught in the spoilers the movie will absolutely be. Get this book, read it, THEN see the movie!

Or just go see the movie, and enjoy a Matt Damon fest. What really can I do to stop you?

Happy Reading,

Katie

P.S. below is one of my favorite quotes from the movie. SO true in life!

ducttape

One thought on “The Martian by Andy Weir

Leave a Reply

