Labor Day Weekend Reads

Hey you lovely readers you!!!

So as I have been getting settled in to my new job, I have been trying to keep up on my reading!(not the easiest thing to do, but its helping with my sanity) This Labor Day weekend gave me some much needed time between the pages!

I read two books this weekend, both of which deserve a little time on this blog of mine. 😉

The first was Modelland by, Tyra Banks.

modelland

If you know me, this is not exactly the type of book I would normally pick up, but one of the students at my new school checked it out of the library, and I told her that I would read it with her. I am all for supporting students reading, and if having me read the same  novel is motivation for her? I am all for it!

It follows a girl name Tookie, through a magical, frightening, and empowering experience through Modelland. Every year 100 girls are chosen to join the elite location at the top of the mountain, Modelland, where if they do as their told, and succeed beyond measure, they can become an Intoxibella. A top of the top fashion model, leading the world by storm.

Tookie is not what you would typically call beautiful, and neither are her 3 friends. But that doesn’t stop them from rocking their bella lessons! Each girl has powers of her own, and the ability to shine in this magical land, so what if they aren’t textbook beautiful, they are fierce and every girl on the mountain has her own demons to struggle with. Even the most beautiful girls have insecurities.

This book was strange, overly themed, and just generally odd. But it has an amazing heart. If you have a love of fantasy and fashion, and you happen to be an insecure girl in her teens, this book will probably do you some good. It has a strong, love thy self theme, as well as not bowing down to “traditional” beauty. With all the “effyourbeautystandards” going on, This book is right up the alley with all those other ideals.

In the end, I didn’t really like it, but I respected it. Now all I have to do is see if that student comes back with it finished!

The other book I read, was also a student recommendation, but it was a series that I had been meaning to pick up anyway, so I was excited to have a reason to get started.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

throne of glass

My first exposure to Sarah J. Maas was her new series A Court of Thorns and Roses, and if I remember correctly, I gushed about that book after I read it…. It is the same with this one! *gush-gush-gush*

Ms. Maas is such a wonderful writer that I think I will be adding her to my “must read” list, any book she writes from now on, I will definitely be on the look out for! Thankfully I have some catching up to do, so hopefully I wont have to wait too long for her next release from the Court of Thorns and Roses series.

This book, Throne of Glass, had everything, action, magic, revenge, love, and rebellion.  Celaena Sardothien is an infamous assassin, we first meet her after she has been living in a slave compound in the salt mines. She has survived for a year in a place most people don’t live to see for a month. But now the crowned prince has come to bring her back to the palace. The King is hosting a competition to find his champion, and if she can beat 23 other criminals, murderers, and thieves, she can work towards her freedom.

Celaena is such an amazing character, she is strong willed, and knows what she has to do, but she hasn’t lost her soul through all those years as an assassin. You wouldn’t think that you would grow to love a murderer, but how could you not, when its Celaena. The crowned prince, and the Captain of the guard, most certainly agree with me…

Magic plays its part as well, the King has banished all magic, but he can’t rid his kingdom of every kind, Wyrdmarks are found surrounding the castle, and champions are being found dead in the halls. Something is going bump in the night, and unless Celaena or the Captain of the Guard can figure out who is killing these people, no Champion is safe.

I read this book from start to finish. I was trying not to let myself get too involved and sucked in to the story, because you know, chores and a fiance that I need to give my attention to, but I definitely gave this book most of my Sunday. And if my short summary makes you interested at all in reading it, I would DEFINITELY recommend it to you. It’s cheap right now too! I got this book on amazon kindle for $0.99!

Let me know if you guys pick up any of these books! I would love to talk about it with you.

Happy Reading,

Katie

One thought on “Labor Day Weekend Reads

Leave a Reply

