When a Series Ends

The ending of a series can be a painful one. After becoming invested in the characters lives, you hope for the bad guys to meet their bad ends, and the good guys to find their happily ever after.

I much prefer when it is a happy ending. I won’t hate on a sad ending.. but I have to find some justification in it. I don’t want to feel sad just for the sake of tears. Make me sad, because that is what had been foreshadowed earlier in the novels, or because one can’t live if the other survives. Make the emotion worthwhile. It all depends of what kind of games the author decides to play on their readers.

We all have had those experiences where the last book of a series simply tears our heart out. Sometimes I can justify it in my head, but most of the time, I just find it upsetting, when I live in a world where happy endings are the American dream. I want all these characters to live happy and wonderful lives. They go through struggle, so I want them to end up in a happy life that they have earned.

No lie, I love me a happy ending.

I recently finished The Paper Magician series, just last night.

Here is another series where I hoped for the happy ending. I wanted everyone to be happy, guy gets the girl, no one dies, yada yada yada.

And I got it. For the first time, I wasn’t satisfied with it.

This trilogy gave each bad guy the spot light. Each book’s conflict is based on the enemy that is chasing Ceony. The Master Magician’s conflict felt very forced. Almost like the author didn’t know how to write a story where the conflict was any different from the previous in the trilogy. She had a happy life, everything was going well, and Ceony is a few weeks away from taking her Magicians test. That right there could have been enough of a conflict, but instead, they gave her one last bad guy that had escaped from prison.

This was the weirdest part for me. I felt like these interactions were brushed over, and hurried along. Because of that I didn’t feel that they were very necessary to make the story interesting. Ceony has a lot going on in her life, she has learned how to unbind herself from her paper magic, and become bound to another. THAT IS A HUGE PLOT POINT, but it felt like it was secondary, when it should have been more of a focus.

This book was a super quick read, and while I liked its ending, I wish I had had more.

When I read the last book in the Hunger Games series, Mockingjay, I was shocked and moved and angry while reading it. During Allegiant, the last book in the Divergent series, I was crying and yelling at the book. The 7th book in the Harry Potter Series had me bawling my eyes out. Unfortunately or fortunately this trilogy ender didn’t have the sadness that could be associated with the previous books I’ve mentioned, but it also didn’t feel like it had any heart. This book felt like an epilogue or a short story to wrap up a few loose ends, and oh yeah, this is supposed to be a whole novel, let  me add a couple conflicts, ta-da! A book.

Anyone who is reading The Paper Magician Series, you need to finish it, but I hope you didn’t get your hopes up too high, mine were let down for a book that is supposed to wrap up such an exciting trilogy.

Have you read it yet? What are your thoughts?

Happy Reading,

Katie

Leave a Reply

