A Court of Thorns and Roses- Review

courtofthornsandroses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Hardcover: 432 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Released:May 5, 2015

Received through Netgalley (HUGE THANK YOU!!)

Buy this book: Amazon

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

(Quote taken from amazon.com)


I picked up this book yesterday… and I finished it, well, yesterday. I literally couldn’t put this book down! If you are a fan of Faeries, danger, intrigue, and a little bit of romance. This book is definitely for you. It has a Beauty and the Beast feel, while giving you magic, danger, creepy monsters, and faerie lore that keeps you riveted to each and every page you turn.

Feyre has been taking care of her family for years, ever since her father lost his fortune, and won’t get out the door to provide for his family. She hunts in the dangerous forest surrounding her home to keep food on the table and fire in the hearth. Then one day, during a cold and brutal winter, she kills a wolf. And not just any wolf, … a fae. Soon, a giant beast comes to her home demanding retribution for the murder of his friend. She must choose between death, or life in the land beyond the wall, the land of the Faeries.

With the beast, Tamlin, a High Fae of Spring, Feyre leaves her family behind, and finds herself in a world she couldn’t have fathomed in her wildest dreams. As she learns to trust her captors, and the safety of her family, her icy hate-filled heart begins to warm. She starts to find beauty in the world around her, and friends in the faeries. For so long she had been told to fear them, but not all faeries are alike.

Passion builds between Feyre and Tamlin (the High Lord of the Fae of Spring) but nothing is safe, there is a darkness creeping into this world, and She is worse than you can possible imagine. Soon it will threaten the human world as well, and all the Feyre loves and had to leave behind. No one is safe unless Feyre can find a way to trust her heart, and her strength.

This book was highly anticipated on many blogs I have been reading, and Instagram accounts I follow, but I wasn’t sure it would live up to the hype for me. So many new books feel alike, futuristic societies, rebellions, and corrupt governments. Or else its faeries, and magic, and good versus evil.

This book did feel like a story I know, but it was so different, I actually enjoyed the fact that I recognized the elements of beauty and the beast.

By the end of the story I was so enthralled with everything, I knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep until I finished it. Thankfully I didn’t have to pull an all nighter to get to the last page of this book, but it was late enough to make me realize just how good it was. That hasn’t happened to me in awhile. But I love when a good book gets its hook in to you, and you know you have to keep reading! Though, I try to be a reasonable adult when it comes to school nights. haha. Actually I am a bit of an old woman, I have a very early bed time, so much so that I bet if I said what time I went to bed, not many would even think it was too late! I think I will keep that secret to myself.

I hope you all add this book to your summer reading list, because you won’t be disappointed.

Now I am off to see if Sarah Maas, will be coming to LA any time soon for her book tour!

Happy Reading,

Katie

PS Epic Reads has this really cool fairy tale retellings chart that you should check out!

YA_Retellings_Fairytales_Web2

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses- Review

Leave a Reply

