Extending book series, Yay or Nay?

I don’t know if I am the only one out there who feels this way, but I like to know when I will be reaching the end of a book. When I read on my iPad, I can sometimes get bamboozled! It can be from a preview to another book, or a book club discussion that was stuck in at the end. You think you have so many pages left, then all of a sudden it just ends!

As I am reading I can feel a book coming to an end, but with 15% left, that can’t possibly right!

The opposite is also true. There have been far too many times when I am reaching the end of a book, and the story isn’t wrapping up. Only to find out that the author changed a trilogy into a series, or that novel that you assumed was a stand alone, is actually going to be a trilogy, and you have to wait at least a year before you can get your hands on the next one.

This can be especially frustrating when you so desperately want to know what happens next!

Strangely enough there was even one book series that completely punk’d me. The Inheritance Cycle, also known as the Eragon series. Did you know when it was first released it was supposed to be a trilogy? It was one of those books that I really liked, but kind of forgot about until I saw it on book shelves in Borders (for anyone who may not know, Borders was an amazing bookstore chain that went out of business). I was thrilled when the 3rd book came out, I had been waiting for months to finally get the ending to this series… 50 pages left and it doesn’t seem to be ending…25 pages left and we are still in a battle…. 10 pages left and I had to google what I had missed. Was this the last book of the series? NOPE! And I set myself to waiting another year before I could find out how it all ended.

There have been a few others who’s decision to continue gave me lack luster feelings.

The Immortal Instruments Series. I thought it was going to be a trilogy. Then the 4th book came out, and I was actually very excited for it! Until I realized that all the thing that had been so nicely wrapped up and concluded in the last novel was completely getting ripped apart. I felt like the entire book was just causing conflict for the sake of conflict. The Immortal Instruments could be two separate trilogies. That would have made way more sense to me, but what do I know? I don’t have a best selling book series, a movie, and an upcoming TV show….

The best is when you wish a book series would continue. You want to hear more about the lives of the characters your have grown so close to. This is where this week’s book comes in. The Heir by Kiera Cass.

I LoVeD LOVED lOvEd! The Selection series. The whole premise was perfect for me, enough romance to keep my heart happy, and enough intrigue and suspense between novels to keep my coming back for more, all the while being a futuristic dystopian society (we all know we love those). The series ending exactly as I had hoped, and I ate up all the extra novellas that were told from other characters perspectives.

When I heard that the 4th book would be about the heir, I was SO HAPPY!! It is such a great way to extend a book series, while still keeping it fresh and new. Rather than just having a new set of rebel forces attack a castle, and have the same characters deal with new problems, we are seeing an extension of the story through their children. The Heir!

the heir

I am busting through this one, so I am sure I will get you a review about it soon!

Happy Reading,

Katie

5 thoughts on “Extending book series, Yay or Nay?

  1. Love the blog! It seems to me that we are merely puppets and the authors of these enthralling books hold the strings and get their yayas from watching the way ae dance. Lol. I love it though !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It’s been really fun sharing my thoughts like this! I’m glad people are liking it!
      And I couldn’t agree more! I wonder if they make bets on how many people will cry! If I was writing a book, I do think I would want people to get emotionally attached, though, to be honest. It means we care as much for the characters as the author does!

      Like

Leave a Reply

