You love to hate them.

There are so many of my favorite characters that I practically hated at the beginning of their books. Tris from Divergent, Katniss from Hunger Games, America from the Selection, and Ceony Twill from The Paper Magician.

I know, I am a well educated adult, and as a reader, I see things that the main character doesn’t see, but there are so many times in these novels and trilogies that I love so much, that make me want to scream! “No, don’t do THAT!?”  “What are you thinking!?!?!?!??” You practically want to reach through the pages and shake some sense into these characters.

Most times these characters are growing into themselves, or are creating conflict that will guide the story to where is needs to go, but it can still get damn frustrating!

This happened to me with one of my favorite novels so far this year. Red Queen.

Truth me told, as an English teacher, I can’t help but notice the nuances and foreshadowing that is used in a good story. (sometimes I miss it, or don’t realize it was foreshadowing until everything is cleared up, but hey, Im only human)

Red Queen, has more than a few moments, where as the reader you can see ahead to things that Mare hasn’t realized yet. She is so focused on her own ideas, that she can’t see who is on her side, and who isn’t. She lets herself get pulled to make choices based on her emotions. This character is a love to hate for me. She doesn’t use logic or any kind of thought, she chooses to join a rebel group based on one event, and no solid evidence. Not that the other choice would be worthy to consider either, I just felt that she didn’t really think things through. Every decision she made wasn’t actually her own, she was guided and manipulated to every decision she comes to. And that made me see her as a silly girl that needed to grow up. Which, thankfully, she totally does.

That is the important part, I need to see some redeeming qualities in a character, and watch them develop. If there is no redeeming quality then I really don’t find myself interested being in their point of view, and listening to them narrate the stupid or idiotic decisions they keep making to “try” and make a story have more conflict.

Please don’t let me sway you in to thinking that this book isn’t worth while. Like I said before, these traits are in almost ALL of my favorite books. And this has definitely been added as a favorite of mine.

Now, I don’t want to further ruin this AMAZING book for you, so instead please just take this as a truly and heart felt HIGHLY recommended book to read, from me to you.

Happy Reading,

Katie

Summary thanks to Amazon (the lovely 2 day post that provides me with most of my books)

red queen

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard’s sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king’s palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

3 thoughts on “You love to hate them.

  1. As someone who reads quite a bit I too have to really remember that oftentimes when a character screws up it’s because they’re growing into themselves. Sometimes it’s hard because you want to scream “NO! Don’t do that!” or slap the character but I think that’s just part of what YA largely is: it’s about growing up and learning from mistakes. I hate books where characters never learn from their mistakes but like you I enjoy when characters make mistakes and then learn from them so that they grow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

